2016 Recipients

Congratulations to the 2016 Scholarship and Award Recipients!

The National Academic Achievement Award

This is awarded to one applicant chosen from all scholarship and award applications received who has demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment and achievement throughout the most recent academic year.

Sheila Vajdi – San Diego State University

The Path to Excellence Award

This award recognizes a select group of undergraduate members who have demonstrated outstanding achievement academically, exhibited outstanding leadership skills, or made a substantial contribution in the area of community service.

Cassandra Soluri – Montclair State University
Jennie Christensen – University of California Santa Barbara
Jennifer Walker – University of Central Oklahoma
Morgan LeBlanc – East Tennessee State University
Noelle Pinkerd – James Madison University
Shelby Arthur – University of Northern Colorado
Whitney Brenan – New Mexico State University

The Emerging Leaders Scholarship

This is awarded to students who have maintained high academic performance, have made significant contributions to their chapter and their community, and have been accepted to an accredited Graduate Program of Study.

Briana Carr – Appalachian State University
Brianne Lenhart – Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Jamie Bott – Grand Valley State University
Julia Aymonin – James Madison University
Thuy Le – University of Georgia

The New Member Award

This is given to members who have joined a Sigma Alpha Lambda Chapter during the previous calendar year. It recognizes their academic excellence as well as their contribution to their chapter during their first year of membership.

Allison Fuqua – University of Louisville
Catherine Zapka – East Tennessee State University
Emily Steinbach – University of Iowa
Jan Benson – California State University Fresno
Lena Ho – Boston University
Sarah Derdock – Rowan University

The Chapter Leadership Award

This is given to officers who have maintained high academic performance, demonstrated excellent leadership skills and made a significant contribution to the operation of an existing chapter.

Brandon Moody – James Madison University
Curtis Lee – El Centro College
Dwane Tomlin – University of Texas Arlington
Galia Chate Hernandez – Montclair State University
Justin Brooks – University of Memphis
Linda Ali – Montclair State University
Meredith Byrne – James Madison University
Omer Hillel – Binghamton University